Lots and lots of books

All throughout the past two semesters, Dr. Copeland, the head of Honors as well as a Psych professor, CONSTANTLY bombarded the Honors Program with emails about Capstone Projects and classes and Honors reminders.  Finally, one of them paid off to not be so annoying. One of these emails was a survey to fill out for one of the Capstone Projects. I thought, “Eh, why not fill it out. I’d want someone filling out mine.” So I spent a few minutes taking the survey and sent it in. The website advertised a $100 gift card to Amazon.com for one lucky person, but that wasn’t why I filled out the survey. I never win those kinds of things so I didn’t even think about it.

Well, I won.

And spent $60 on books today.

I’ve never been so happy!

I’ve got such an addiction to books.  I’m determined this summer to read a lot in my spare time.  I’m working on Life and Death in Shanghai by Nien Cheng, a memoir suggested to me by my history teacher.  It’s not a “fun” read, but it’s a good read. It’s long and emotionally heavy, so it’s taken me longer to read than most books its size, but I can’t wait to finish it and others.

So thank you, Dr. Copeland for your incessant emails! I got books out of it!

Here’s the list of what I got. Maybe I’ll write about each of them as I finish them. I did that with the Hunger Games…

  • Fault in our Stars by John Green
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon
  • The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud
Most of these (actually…maybe all of them) I got from a list I had pinned from Buzzfeed called “65 Books You Need to Read in Your Twenties”. I’m not quite 20, but I feel like I’m at least close enough to appreciate them. I’d love to read the rest of the list, but these were the ones I thought sounded most interesting and found quickly on Amazon. Once I finish these I’ll probably find the rest of the list at our used bookstore or the library. 
I’m really excited to start them all, and even more excited to write about them. Be looking for a post about the memoir I’m reading, I’m hoping to finish it in the next week or so. 
Leave a Reply

