Current obsessions

I’m currently in the car on the way to Horseshoe Bay for the weekend. Knowing I was going to be in the car for a prolonged amount of time, this week I’ve decided to write a blog post about the various forms of entertainment I’m enjoying. From what I’m listening to, watching, reading, and playing, here’s a peek into my life. 

*What I’m reading:

I’ve said before I’m reading “Life and Death in Shanghai” by Nein Cheng. I’ve mentioned it before, and still intend on writing a separate post when I finish it. Yesterday (Thursday) I receive the first of twelve books I ordered from Amazon.com and I am already halfway through it. “The Secret History” by Donna Tartt. Oh my goodness. I can’t wait to write about that one because I already have so many thoughts and feelings about this one. So get excited. 
Because we are only going to be out of town for two days, of course I brought four books with me (more if you count what I have on my iPad). The two I’m currently reading. As well as the two I got in the mail. Three amazon orders down, nine to go. 
*What I’m watching: 
I’m obsessed with Netflix. A little too obsessed I think. I fall asleep watching my shows, then wake up in the middle of the night to backtrack and put on episodes I slept through. Here’s a few of my current obsessions:
–Gossip Girl: a show I’ve heard about for forever and finally decided to see what it was like. I can’t say I’m a huge fan yet, even though I’m already ten episodes in.  I just don’t see how it’s relatable or at all real. I love fantasy and made-up stories, but I just can’t take this show seriously. Do girls really act like that? Do parents really treat their children this way? The names of the characters themselves make me want to throw up. I turned it off as soon as a “Romeo and Juliet” kind of relationship sabotage began to happen with Serena’s grandmother and Dan. I can’t stand “class” judgement like that. So it’s going to take me a while to get over it and start again. 
–Buffy the Vampire Slayer: I loved Supernatural with a PASSION and will rematch episodes all the time. Buffy is just a nineties version of that with Lilly from How I Met Your Mother. Of course it’s cheesey, but I love shows about the supernatural and monsters and saving the world. I don’t have much to say about it other than I’m really enjoying it and I’ve just finished the first season. 
–Law and Order SVU: I watched all seven seasons available in about a month last summer and I’m going back through them occasionally. I can’t remember if they’ve added new episodes online since last year, so I’m re watching the last few seasons to make sure I haven’t missed anything. So far I haven’t. 
–Hemlock Grove: holy SHIIIIIZZLE that show. Again. I like the monster shows. I watched the whole season is two days. Yeah, there was a bit too much sex in the show that wasn’t all that necessary, but whatever. Vampires and werewolves have needs. But in all seriousness, the show was great. And season two needs to hurry its butt and get here because I’m excited to see what happens next. Sexy gypsy werewolf boys…yes please. 
*What I’m listening to: 
at work we have Sirius XM radio, and I occasionally get it in my car. Music at work can get old because we can’t really change it every time a song comes on that we don’t like. Don’t worry. I’ll get to that. 
–Mashups!! I found some great song mash ups on YouTube that I can’t get enough of. I can’t remember the channel name right now, but I’ll look it up as soon as I’m off of roaming. They do a lot of Lady Gaga, Marina and the Diamonds, and Lana Del Rey mash ups, and they’re so great. My favorites are Bubblegum Bitch/I Write Sins Not Tragedies, Heavy Metal Lover/Eleanor Rigby, and Off to the Races/Trouble. 
~~~The channel is MashFox!~~~
–Still Into you by Paramore: this song is my jam. Definitely a song that expresses feelings I have, but without being a sad, whiney Taylor Swift hit. The music video is also very fun and colorful for such a melancholy song subject. 
I went and watched some Macklemore and Ryan Lewis videos this week. I’d only seen “Thrift Shop” and don’t like their new single, but I LOVE “Same Love”. That video was so beautiful and I nearly cried. I also watched one called “Otherside” and a very early Ryan Lewis video called “Fake Empire” which was one that you just kind of sit there and think “…Wow…” One, it was a stop motion video, but you could hardly tell. Just from an artistic view it was beautifully done. But the actual meaning of the video was SO thought-provoking, and ironic given how you have to view the video. But it’s definitely one I would suggest everyone watch. 
Unfortunately: like I said, music at work is iffy. Each girl has her own Sirius preference, and mine is currently Alt Nation. Usually, though, it’s been on 20’s on 20, which is a GOD-AWFUL station for the most part. The song  that just repeats the phrase “I always get bougie” plays about every five songs. Between that and “Trick don’t kill my vibe,” I’m ready to stab my ears with scissors. Whoever is working always ends up changing it from that to something–ANYTHING better. 
So there are a few of my favorite and not-so-favorite things of the week! Every once in a while I will probably write an update to this, because I obsess over things frequently….
Now, back to playing Candy Crush!
H
Leave a Reply

