Book Recomendations!

Because I’ve been posting incessantly about my bookshelf, I’ve had several people ask for recommendations of things to read. Well, MOST of what I’ve read (I think) is GREAT, but I thought I would at least narrow it down to a few CHOICE selections from my personal library to share with you. 🙂

Most of the books I’ve read in the past are found in the children’s section of any library or Barnes and Noble. I’m almost 20 and am just NOW getting into actual YA books. So I’ll try and fit in some older reads, but don’t overlook the children’s books just because they’re an easier read. They’re on this list because I love them and read them over and over.

Here we go. The first list is younger reads.

  1. Voices After Midnight by Richard Peck (Actually, ANYTHING by Richard Peck. Especially A Year Down Yonder and A Long Way From Chicago)
  2. A Dog’s Life by Ann M. Martin–if you love dogs, be prepared for TEARS. Such an AMAZING book. A very easy read, but not easy on the emotions (don’t worry, it has a happy ending)
  3. Half Magic by Edward Eager
  4. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin–This is a Newbery winner. Though it is a children’s read, it’s a great mystery that I’ve read probably 6 times, and STILL read new things.
  5. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster–this is one of my ALL-TIME favorite books. Ever.
  6. The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White
  7. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson–the movie was an INSANE disappointment. HATED the movie because the book TORE ME APART. 
  8. Though I hate admitting it, I have NOT read all of The Chronicles of Narnia. I believe I stopped in the middle of Dawn Treader. But I have them all on audio book, and listen to them all the time. Eventually I will finish them. BUT, my ALL-TIME favorite is The Magician’s Nephew
  9. As a kid, the books I remember reading most were the Nancy Drew books. I have read almost all of them, and have to at least recommend one, my number one favorite, The Clue in the Crumbling Wall
This list is older reads, from YA to regular adult fiction
  1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky–Tears. So many tears. I love Patrick.
  2. I Am Not Myself These Days by Josh Kilmer-Purcell–I bought this book not having ANY idea what it was about. And loved it. 
  3. The Lords of Discipline by Pat Conroy–read this in my Honors class last year, and really enjoyed it. It was different than most books I’ve read subject-wise, but it was really good.
  4. The Secret History by Donna Tartt–Yes. Read it.
  5. The Abram’s Daughters series by Beverly Lewis–by far my favorite Beverly Lewis books. From my Amish obsession phase. 
  6. The Fault in Our Stars and Looking For Alaska by John Green–definitely one of my new favorite authors. I must say, I didn’t like Looking for Alaska QUITE as much as Fault in Our Stars, but it was still great. I’m going to read Paper Towns next, I’ll let you know what I think. 
  7. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath–although I only gave this book 2 stars on Goodreads, I would still recommend it. Yes, it was depressing, but at the same time I was glad I read it. Wasn’t my favorite, but I didn’t regret it. 
  8. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame Smith–YOU GUYS. I loved the movie so much, but the book was just….Crazy. 
  9. Immanuel’s Veins by Ted Dekker–I’m pretty sure it took me until the last chapter or so to actually realize this book was about vampires…Because I’m kind of an idiot. XD
  10. BoneMan’s Daughters by Ted Dekker–HOLY. 
  11. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  12. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne–the movie broke my heart, but so did the book. A very easy read, because it’s written from a child’s perspective, but such an innocent take on a heavy plot.
  13. Obsessed by Ted Dekker–if you like Holocaust books
  14. Life and Death in Shanghai by Nien Cheng–my history teacher told me to read this one last semester. It’s the memoirs of this woman, and it’s such a GREAT story of survival
  15. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon–this is a novel about two cousins in the 40’s who create comic books. Nuff said.
  16. Do I even have to put the Hush, Hush series on here? I’ve been freaking out about it all over Instagram. I’m almost ashamed that I even like it so much because it’s SO MUCH LIKE TWILIGHT and I HATE Twilight. But whatever. It’s major fluff reading. 
I feel like it’s a give-in to put Harry Potter and The Hunger Games on here…I’m also about to start Divergent and City of Bones, and Beautiful Creatures, so I’ll have a lot more series to read…
If you like any of these, I probably have recommendations based on the individual book, I just wanted to give a little smattering of my absolute favorites. This year I’ve decided that I want to read more “classic” books, because I haven’t read near enough of them. You’ll see only one or two on this list, but I’m working on it! I’m in the middle of The Diary of Anne Frank, and just bought several like Swiss Family Robison, The Scarlet Letter, etc that I’m planning on working on just to branch out from my usual fluff. 
And if you have any books you would like to recommend to ME, let me know!! I’d love to add to my shelf. 😉
Leave a Reply

