What I Want (As of 8-16-13)

This is another rant about college. With classes starting in 10 days, and financial aid crap being confusing and still needing to buy books, I can’t help but ask myself why I’m going through all of this stress.  Really, the smartest thing I could have done, I didn’t do. 

The reason I am even attending ANY school this fall is to be eligible to apply for the Disney College Program in September. That’s the SOLE reason. Nothing more. Not to continue my education (because I don’t know if that’s what I want to do anymore), but as a means to follow my dreams and get a foot in the door at Disney. 
Why, then, didn’t I just take a single class at our community college? I have no idea. That would have been the smart choice. To be eligible, one only has to be enrolled in SOME kind of college class. I could take an online yoga class from any college, and it would count. But instead, I decided to take on 5 classes this fall at a school that I hold a great deal of animosity toward.
Any dealings with this school I have had make me progressively more angry. Just the way they handle things pisses me off. Really, I hope I don’t hate it so much when I get there. I really don’t. I don’t have to have school spirit (because I won’t), but I do hope that I can at least tolerate it for however long I’m there. I want it to be a pleasant semester, but my ideal situation would be that I’m only there for the one semester. 
My mom asked me today why I didn’t just drop classes and be part-time, still meeting the DCP requirements. I don’t want to do this, because, if I decide I DO want to continue going to school at any time, I want to make the most of the semesters in succession that I attend a school. That way, if I take time off and go back part-time (or full-time), I will have a good deal of classes  under my belt.
My plan after getting to Orlando next January is as follows:
  • Do the Spring Advantage DCP (January-August, I believe)
  • Apply to extend my program (You can totally do that. I don’t know about doing it with SA, but I am going to try anyway)
  • OR, in the place of the above bullet, find a group of friends who have the same general goals as myself who would like to find regular Cast Member jobs and move to Orlando permanently at the end of our program. 
  • From there, if I would like to continue going to school, I can take a class or two part-time and slowly work at it. IF I want to do that. 
  • Fall in love with a man who plays the Aladdin that I met in EPCOT last Christmas, marry him, and live happily ever after. 
I don’t want anyone to think I don’t believe school is important…I do. But I’m not in a place in my life where I’m exactly passionate about sitting in a classroom. I LOVE learning, but I want to learn by DOING. And I feel like the DCP is where I can begin doing that. Sure, not like selling Mickey Ears or introducing people to the back side of water on Jungle Cruise is EXACTLY real-world experience, but moving four states away from my home, having to pay rent and buy my own groceries and deal with roommates and customers and bosses and princesses on my own IS real experience. It’s a growing experience that I would like to try out. 
Maybe I’ll get there and hate it and want to go home. It’s possible. But at the same time, I don’t want to miss out on a chance to do something kind of scary. And moving to Florida is scary. Not finishing school is scary. But it can all be un-done. I can move back. I can move somewhere else. I can ALWAYS go back to school if it becomes a major priority. 
Or maybe I’ll be happy giving tours on Jungle Cruise and riding Splash Mountain and watching fireworks all the time. Who knows. Either way, on this day, August 16, 2013, this is what I want. 
Granted, I wanted to be a dolphin trainer at Sea World for the longest time, and now I freaking HATE fish. So there’s that. 
Leave a Reply

