It’s A Horrid Habit.

Must. Refrain. From. Picking. At. My. Fingernails.

It’s awful. I have the ugliest hands because I bite my nails until they bleed, and I pick and bite at the skin till THAT bleeds.

Isn’t picking at your skin like that some sign of anxiety or something mental? Because that’s encouraging. Obviously, Nina Sayers had problems with picking at her cuticles, and look where that got her. (For those of you who don’t get that reference, watch Black Swan. Fabulous film.)
According to the ever-reliable Wikipedia, “Skin picking often occurs as a result of some other triggering cause. Some common triggers are feeling or examining irregularities on the skin and feeling anxious or other negative feelings.”

But, Wikipedia also says, “In contrast to neurological theories, there are some psychologists who believe that picking behavior can be a result of repressed rage felt toward authoritarian parents.[2] A similar theory holds that overbearing parents can cause the behavior to develop in their children.” Which DEFINITELY doesn’t apply to me. That’s much more poor Nina. (Another Black Swan reference. Seriously. Watch it.)
Four Wiki pages later, I still don’t know why I do it. I’ve bitten my nails for as long as I can remember. Why am I telling you this? I don’t know. Cause it’s my blog. And also, because I’m trying to quit. Is there a patch for that? Some kind of gum? I’ve actually heard chewing gum can help. 

I do know that I don’t bite when I have acrylic nails. They’re too expensive to just bite off. That’s also why I don’t keep them on very long: they’re too expensive; the upkeep is crazy. I’m afraid I won’t take the time in Orlando to keep up with them, or have the money to. But I love having girl fingers. So, it’s The Struggle, and it’s real. 

What I would like to try and do is stop biting my nails, let the skin around them heal up enough, and get shellac done. Keep them pretty until I don’t have the need to destroy my fingers anymore. Then see what I do in Florida. Maybe my schedule won’t be TOO god-awful and I can have some mornings/early afternoons to set aside nail-time. Disney Look appropriate, of course.  
One thought on “It’s A Horrid Habit.

  1. I have skin picking Dermotillomania, and it's like being attached at the brain to an evil twin. In the last 2 years I've seen so much information pop up on the web, and some cities have organised group meetings. I know how expensive it is to try and search out therapy and preventative measures. Hopefully support groups might help the financial side of gaining back control. Best of luck. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

