Last Day to Hear From Disney

I forgot that there are still people who have not heard back from Disney…

I almost feel like I (and others who have been accepted) have taken for granted the fact that we are accepted.  Having been in the position of rejection from last semester, I can’t imagine how I would have felt if I had been a part of the community on Facebook. Although I didn’t make it this far into the application progress last semester, it still would have been very difficult. But for those who have been waiting for news and did not get the answer you wanted, I want to offer this:

This will sound patronizing and may not make you feel any better, but please know it comes from my heart. I have been here. I was full of excitement to apply, and devastated when I did not make it past the WBI (I’ll write more about this in a later post). I didn’t even have a chance to be considered or pended. To me, I thought my chances were shot forever and would never make it because I had failed the first WBI I took. But my mom encouraged me to apply again this semester, and I couldn’t be happier that I didn’t give up. Had I been there for this semester, yes I would have met great people, I’m sure. But I would not have the roommates I’m going to, I wouldn’t meet the people I’m going to. I was not meant to be in the Disney College Program in the Fall of 2013, and I see that now. But in February, it killed me.

Your time is not the spring, for whatever reason. Apply for fall. You’ll get to be there for CHRISTMAS for Pete’s sake. Why apply for Spring when you can experience Christmas at Disney. Think of all the friends you will make the next time you apply that you never would have if you went this coming semester. There is a reason you are where you are, and I wish I could tell you why. This semester for me hasn’t been the greatest, and hasn’t been what I wanted it to be; next semester is my time. Maybe the next is yours. But whatever you do: DON’T GIVE UP. You are not any less a magical person because you are no longer in consideration. There is a special place at a Disney Park for you in a future semester.

I really hope this helped put the situation you are in into perspective. At least try and think about it that way. All I can stress is that everything works out exactly as it is supposed to, whether it’s the timing you want or not. 🙂

Maybe this is dumb, but I want to say it anyway: If you want to talk to someone (about anything, really), I’d love if you would message me! If you want to know how it is to be in the DCP so you’re even more prepared for when you get it, add me on Facebook or follow this blog or whatever. I have LOVED Instagram stalking current CPs this semester, getting to see what they experience. So don’t be afraid to do something like that. It actually helps to live vicariously through others.

One thought on “Last Day to Hear From Disney

  1. Great post!! This will be my second program…but I am still pending for the management and professional internships. I can totally relate to those still waiting for Disney since I am still waiting for my MI and PI but I was for sure accepted for a second college program (CP). If you have any questions about the program feel free to ask me =) I did my program Spring of 2011 and loved every second of it!! Feel free to find me on Facebook and add me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

