Thor 2 vs. Tangled

As anyone who has spent any amount of time on my social media accounts or with me in person would know, I’m obsessed with movies. My holiday wishlist is nothing but movies and books. So, as you would guess, movies of books would be very high on my love list. In the last week, I have been to a movie theater 3 times for 2 movies, spending about 13 hours there in total. And every. Minute. Was. Worth it. So, let’s talk about that.

The first movie I have seen this week was Thor: The Dark World (hereby referred to as Thor 2). I went to see it with friends on Saturday, and was very reluctant to go in the first place. When I saw the first Thor movie, I hated it. I love all of the Avengers, but Thor was by far my least favorite. Not to mention we saw the first one in 3D and I sat there pissed off the whole time because of that. So when going to see Thor 2, I didn’t have very high expectations. But earlier that morning, I got to spend a little time with my HSU friend, Braxton, who was in town briefly. He told me that the second was SO much better than the first, and that I would love it, so I had no choice but to believe him.

He was right. But, the little poop spoiled the movie without spoiling the movie. *I* won’t be the one to spoil it, but he did a little damage to my viewing because of a comment he made at breakfast. I will, however, share this video. It isn’t really spoiling any major plot, I promise. It’s just a cameo that is the entire reason I even saw this movie the very next day.

Yum. So many giggles.

Another thing in the movie was how many references to OTHER movies you could make. My favorite is Tangled.  Here are my comparisons, which do kind of have a little spoilers in them:

  • The castle in Asguard looks VERY similar to the castle in Tangled. 
  • Thor has long, luscious, blonde hair. 
  • *SPOILER* When Thor’s mother dies, the funeral scene is eerily like that of the lantern scene from Tangled.  I couldn’t find a good photo from Thor, but if you’ve seen it, don’t tell me Meredith and I were the only ones singing “And at last I see the liiiight” in the theater. 
  • Zachary Levi. Whose character looks exactly like a blonde Flynn Rider. #NoComplaints.
Another movie I saw this week, of course, was Catching Fire. I don’t really want to say too much about it, because I would like to see it one more time to fully appreciate and critique it. After waiting a year and a half, full of expectations, one can’t have a good grasp on their emotions after just one viewing. But I will say that I very much enjoyed it, and have a lot of thoughts. But, again, I will have to see it again to formulate them and decide what I want to say about it. 

Leave a Reply

