Being Sick

Being sick is never fun. It’s twice as not-fun when you’re on your own and your mommy can’t bring you things. It’s five millions times as not-fun when you have to work but know you’ll puke all over everything if you go. And it’s your first day of being a regular Cast Member, not just a trainee. That was my yesterday.

I woke up at 3 am feeling ick, but I just thought I was really hot because the apartment was burning up. So I took some Pepto Bismol and went back to sleep. Woke up for the day, watched tv, and felt alright, but when I started getting ready for work around 11:30, I felt sick again. I sat in the chair, not moving because if I moved, I was going to throw up everywhere. I debated just going in and hope to be let go early, but the longer I sat there, the worse I felt and didn’t think I would even be able to make it to Magic Kingdom. So I did the thing I never ever want to do, ESPECIALLY on my first day: Call in sick. I felt worse about calling in sick than I actually felt–and I felt really bad.

The thing is, I don’t GET sick. So when I DO, I know I’m sick. I called in sick at Always Tan twice in the two years I worked there. And I was so sick I went to the doctor both times (another thing: I don’t go to the doctor. So I WAS sick). I don’t miss class because I don’t feel like it. If I don’t go to work or class, I have a very good reason. But it doesn’t make me feel any better to have a reason, because I’m too responsible to not go to work.

I’m sure it isn’t even as big a deal as I’m making it out to be, but it’s a big deal to me if nothing else; I hate feeling irresponsible and not going to work. It wasn’t like I sat at home and had fun on my accidental “off day” but still. I WANT to work. I WANT to be there. So even though I still don’t feel like 100% again (my stomach is still a little churney), I am going in because I am serious about working here. If I can’t make it, I’ll let someone know. And just hope I can make it to somewhere private to toss my cookies. But I don’t think it will come to that. I’ll bring stomach soothers in my bag and make it through the 6 hours I’m there. I can surely make it 6 hours.

Leave a Reply

