ASOUE Challenge–Introduction

The first challenge for the ASOUE Read Along! For me the read along doesn’t actually start for a few more hours, but I thought I’d go ahead and post this before I actually start reading! 
 
 

–Who are you? Of course we don’t expect you to go into great existential detail on this matter, do try to limit yourself to the basics. (But if you would like to write on the existential aspects of the question we have no power to stop you) 

I am a 20-year-old Disney Cast Member in Orlando, Florida. I’m crazy about books and the internet and this reading challenge is perfect for that! I love dogs like a whole lot. I’m a super social person and love making new friends! I’d love to meet people through this event and talk about our love for books. I’m very open about my life, so if you have any questions or want to talk to me, don’t be afraid to!

–What do you look like? 

 

–Who are some of your favourite authors and books? 
ASOUE is definitely in the top list. Ted Dekker is a favorite author. I love reading The Catcher in the Rye over and over.  I also have an undying love for TFiOS and Looking for Alaska, even though I’m not usually a fan of contemporaries. I’m much more into the dystopias, fantasy, and historical fiction genres.

–Where is your comfiest reading spot? 
Usually my bed. Although last summer I spent a lot of reading time outside in a lawn chair. 

–Have you read A Series of Unfortunate Events before? 
I’ve read the series through twice! This will be number 3 for me.

–What are your thoughts on the movie adaptation if you have seen it?
I actually like it for what it is. I love Jim Carey, so I think him being cast as Count Olaf was a good choice. I can only imagine if it had been directed by Tim Burton how much better it could have been, though. But I like how they intertwined three books making it one story, just like the books are seamlessly done. Sure there are things that are much different, and after we read The Wide Window I may re-watch the movie and make a proper comparison, but overall I like the choices they made. 

–How are you reading the books? Hardcover? Paperback? Kindle?
Mostly paperback. But books 10-13 are hardback copies. 

–How did you obtain these unhappy tales? 
I started out getting them from the library, but then I ended up buying them all because I like owning my own copies of the books I read.

–Are you updating your progress anywhere else?
Tumblr and Blogspot! And maybe Instagram (@featherstach3). And I’ll probably tweet quotes (@SixItBe). So yes. 
–What are you hoping to get out of this read along
Finding new things that I missed or forgot about the first two times reading these books! It’s been a few years since I’ve read them last so I’m definitely looking forward to re-living my childhood and seeing how others are doing in this challenge as well!
Leave a Reply

