Short Hair, Don’t Care

Nothing makes me feel more like myself than a fresh haircut. I may not be very high maintenance (at least I like to think I’m not), but my hair is very important to me. As much as I hate to admit it, I definitely feel like a lot of how I identify myself is by my haircut.

I always used to think girls that thought that way we’re silly. So many females are wrapped up in their gorgeous long, silky hair. They would come up to me and say, “Oh I love your hair! I could never cut mine off. I’m too scared.” And I would reply (in nicer ways), “Suck it up and chop it off. It’s just hair. It’ll grow back.” I made fun of them to myself because they were too afraid to cut their hair, as if it weren’t reversible with time. 
But I’ll admit I’m the same way, only the opposite. I’m afraid to grow my hair out. Most everyone in my adult life only knows me with short hair. When it starts to grow out to a Meg-Ryan-“You’ve-Got-Mail”  length, I start getting nervous. It grows over my ears and my cow licks at my neck start emerging. Every day becomes a Headband Day just to manage it growing out until I can afford to cut it again. 
I get to a point where I can’t do anything with it. It’s too thick to be volumous and just lays flat. It has too much curl to stay tame in the Florida humidity, but it doesn’t have the length to properly and attractively force to curl. When I’m at this point, no amount of skirts and makeup and jewelry and compliments from my roommates and boyfriend can make me feel pretty. I have a hard time as it is accepting compliments. But if I don’t like how my hair looks, it’s even more difficult to pay them.

Showing people photos of me with long hair is always fun. Very few people know me anymore with anything but the pixie cuts. Here are a few photos of me in high school:

 

I’m horrified at these photos. Gross. It doesn’t even look like me. Not only were these photos taken almost seven years ago, when my hair was long and lighter, but I just don’t look like that anymore. Growing up is weird. But yes, this is about as long as my hair ever was. At least at this point in my life I had learned how to dry and straighten it. In younger years (I refuse to look up photos because they’re so horrendous and frumpy), I was queen of badly-executed pony-tails because my hair wasn’t worth the effort of styling and I hadn’t learned yet. Sometimes I still feel that way; it’s mostly due to the Florida humidity that even short hair isn’t worth the effort some days.

But nowadays, here’s been my signature haircut:

 

Usually done in red or black, or the occasional natural-brownish color, This haircut is so much better for me and my time and patience. Never again will I grow out my hair like it was before. It’s not me. Short, messy, edgy, that’s my hair now. I miss having pink, purple, and blue-dyed hair, but that’s a solid “no” from Disney. So I keep it short and I love it that way. If that makes me find myself and my identity by the length of my hair, then that’s how it is. Some girls need long hair to feel like themselves, and that’s okay too. I’ll keep my pixie and save hours of drying time instead.

As an afterthought, I just read this Buzzfeed article, and it’s exactly why I think girls and their long hair are silly. Mothers are angry about their daughters losing lengths of their “feminine” hair because of a toy. The money spent on something that gets so tangled is an issue, yes. Your children putting things in their hair that doesn’t belong is frustrating, yes. But you can be sure that they’re upset about giving their daughters short haircuts.

Working at Disney, I see lots of different kinds of children and families. Every time I see a little girl with short hair, I always compliment it, because I’m sure she gets comments about it being too short. Sometimes they’re with Make-A-Wish and it’s growing back, maybe they got something caught in it, or maybe they just wanted short hair. No matter the situation, I want them to know that they’re beautiful without having to have long hair to prove they are feminine. And maybe that’s why I cut mine so short, too. Maybe I’m trying to break gender stereotypes by not conforming to the long-hair standards. (I still wear makeup and dresses so I know I’m still conforming to traditional beauty standards. Shut up.) Still. Long hair isn’t the only thing that makes you a woman, if that’s your concern. I love my short hair and feel prettier with it than I ever did with long hair.

Leave a Reply

