Where Did 2015 Go?!

Since it’s December, it’s only natural that I put an end-of-year recap on my blog. Everyone else is, so I might as well jump on the bandwagon. Now, I’m sure I’ve forgotten about something. But this is at least a fairly complete list of things that happened to me in 2015.

The best way my year could have started was getting the call telling me I was going to be transferred back to Ad/Lib attractions. At the beginning of February I transferred back to Pirates, my true Disney love.

In my time back in Adventureland, Pirates was to undergo a major refurbishment, so I got trained in Fastpass+ for the summer. Not a bad gig. I was actually excited to understand how the system actually works (when it does), and I kind of miss it. The shifts were boring and my feet hurt from standing and not moving around, but it wasn’t murderous, and guests usually weren’t that upset. 
I got my second tattoo near the beginning of the year. Two of my roommates and I went to get Friday the 13th tattoos together. It was right before Valentine’s Day, so there were heart-shaped flash tattoos with fun themes that were different than your typical superstition $13 tattoos. 

I went out on my first date this past March. I also had my first kiss not too long after. That’s a whole story about such a massive mistake and waste of time, but I won’t discuss it on my end-of-year post. Some other time, perhaps.

Beth, my roommate at the time, and I went and got our septums pierced. This is by far my favorite piercing I’ve ever had, even more than my former nostril piercing.

My roommates and I (sans Shane, Alec, and Dylan) moved into an apartment. We had been in a house for the past year, and decided to move closer to work and into a smaller apartment. There are times when I miss being in a house, but not that one per say. Beth didn’t stay long, and we found another roommate, Chris, who has been a wonderful addition to our lives.

In 2015, my adult dream came true and I got a dog. I’ve got a post about Twix on my blog. She’s the perfect family dog. Extremely derpy, but a great dog. She loves me so unconditionally, always following me around and getting depressed when I’m not home. Twix is absolutely perfect to me, even if she keeps everyone awake chewing on her feet at night.

For the first time in my life, I fell in love. I met Jay in June while I was working Fastpass, and my life will never be the same. I could write an entire post about how incredible he is (I promise. I just wrote him a 4-page letter telling him that). He’s so fun and goofy, but he’s refreshingly realistic–especially when I’m not. He puts up with a lot being with me, and I’m sure he’d argue the same from me. Really, though, we work well together.  I’m so lucky to have such a wonderful man in my life to share park adventures and just exist together. I couldn’t ask for a better person to be in a relationship with; he’s everything I ever wanted and so much more.

My best friend got married in July, and it was my first time to be in a wedding. Not only was it a celebration of two of my best friends, but it was also like a mini high school reunion. Both were wonderful to get to be a part of to catch up with everyone on their own paths. 
July 26, 2015 marks my Full Time seniority date.  A year and a half since the beginning of my College Program and just a few days shy of my one-year part-time hire date, I was finally given a full-time position. With this came a lot of heartbreak leaving Pirates to go to Frontierland and Splash Mountain. But no matter how much I miss Pirates and am looking forward to leaving Frontierland to try something else, it was worth getting the benefits that full-time brings.

Not long after my transfer, I got another tattoo. This marks number 3. Both tattoos this year were done on a whim. This one was with my friend Skylar, deciding to get her first tattoo.  My third tattoo is the one I’ve wanted the longest. Ever since I was thirteen, reading the Series of Unfortunate Events book series, I wanted a tattoo of an eye on my left ankle. I’m probably the most happy with this tattoo because the series has been such a massive part of my growing up.

I played Pokemon for the first time this year. I bought my very own Nintendo 3DS, Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, and Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Not a huge thing that happened in 2015, but I was proud of it. 
The Country Bear Jamboree is one of my favorite attractions on property. And in November I got cross-trained at Tom Sawyer Island and the Country Bear Jamboree. I had amazing trainers who put up with a lot from me. Driving the TSI rafts is more difficult than I thought, but I really enjoy it and am getting better.  The complex is much more relaxed than any place I’ve ever worked at Disney, and it’s a nice change of pace to be able to have a shift or two there.

I got to celebrate Disneyland’s 60th anniversary this year. Ryan, Cody, Skylar, and I planned a week-long trip to Disneyland in November. It was a long trip, but so incredible. I can’t wait to go back.  I love Walt Disney World and it will always be home, but my favorite Disney park will always without a doubt be Disney’s California Adventure.








While at Disneyland, I ran my first half marathon.  Originally, the trip was just for Skylar and me to run the Avenger’s Superhero Half Marathon with RunDisney. Additionally, I signed up for The Infinity Gauntlet Challenge, running both the Captain America 10k and the half marathon. The experience was great, but I hadn’t trained at all, and the half marathon was very overwhelming. I’d do another half, but not without putting more effort into preparing for it.

I turned 22 in 2015. I spend my birthday working, but got a lot of really nice cards and gifts from friends and family.

I got to see my very first Star Wars movie in theaters this year. For Christmas I took Jay to see it and we somehow got perfect seats, despite the theater being completely packed. Seeing Episode VII in theaters wasn’t a big deal, but it was special to get to see it with Jay because it’s such an important part of his life.

Even with a week left in the year, I don’t have any plans other than working. With that, I feel like publishing this would be an appropriate thing to do. I hope your 2015 brought lots of excitement and good things. Happy New Year, and here’s to 2016!

Leave a Reply

