Books I’m Bringing Into 2016

In 2015, I told myself I would read 75 books. I disappointed myself terribly and only read 6 by the end of the year, most of them being trade paperback comic books. I don’t know if I’ve ever read so few books in a year, and this year I vow to do better. Reading has always been so important to me, and it breaks my heart to know that I’ve slacked so much, especially when I know how many books I have still unfinished on my shelves and how many more I want to buy. This year, I set my goal a little lower, putting it at 40 books. This gives me less pressure, but still gives me a challenge.

In the last few weeks I came into some book-buying money through gift cards and used them very wisely. Today I want to share with you the books that I’m bringing into 2016 with me. Not all of these books are new, and I won’t be mentioning in detail every book I purchased. But these are the ones that are most important for me to read first.

Two of the books I will be reading soon are ones that have been on my wishlist for quite some time. I’ve just been waiting on the money and the paperback versions to be released. They are Room by Emma Donoghue and I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. I’ve been the most excited to own these two very different books and finally getting them in the mail was so relieving to my bookworm heart.

Another two that I was excited for were Osama Van Halen by Michael Muhammad Knight and The Sanctuary Seeker (A Crowner John Mystery) by Bernard Knight. It’s funny, I didn’t intentionally group these two together by last name; it just happened that way. I’m looking forward to the first because I am in love with another book by MMK, The Taqwacores, and can’t wait to read another in the same feel. The second was recommended to me by my boyfriend, so I think reading something he’s told me about will be a fun thing to get into. I haven’t read a good mystery in a while, adding to the excitement of getting into this one.

Some others that I got are continuations of series I already had. I got the fourth volume of Hawkeye, third and fourth volumes of Ms. Marvel, and The Scorch Trials so I can eventually start The Maze Runner series.

One of the books I hope to tackle this year was an impulse buy. I heard a few people on YouTube talk about it, but I mostly bought it for the cover. It’s so incredible that I specifically wanted to own the hardback copy. This book is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman an Jay Kristoff. Yes, the book sounds incredible as another apocalyptic planet invasion series with the way the story is told through “hacked documents”, but I definitely judged a book by its cover with this one. Nonetheless, I can’t wait to get into it.

Some books that are out of the norm for me I think are going to be the very best in the end for me to read. Oprah Winfrey’s What I Know For Sure and Serena Dyer and Dr. Wayne Dyer’s Don’t Die With Your Music Still In You are non-fiction self-help books that I need desperately right now. I’ve had Oprah’s book sitting on my shelf for some time now and only now has it been appropriate to mean something to me. The book by the Dyers was given to me today by my parents to help me get through some hard times. I’m hoping to read these quickly in the next few days and change the way I think and see myself in a more positive way.

I have plenty more books on my shelf that I’ve started and need to work on. But these few are the most recent to my collection and the ones I’m most excited to begin for the new year. As always, I’m accepting recommendations, but if you’ve ever seen my shelves or my Goodreads “To-Read” list, you’ll know I have plenty to keep myself busy.

Leave a Reply

