Death of a Bachelor by P!ATD: REVIEW

Pleasant Surprise

I’ll admit I’ve been very out of the loop with everything recently, so I had no idea Panic! At the Disco was even releasing a new album any time soon. I had heard a few singles (“Hallelujah” and “Victorious”) but hadn’t kept up with when a new album was supposed to happen. Recently I went to a drag show at a club with my roommates and one of the songs used was “Emperor’s New Clothes” but I honestly thought it was an Adam Lambert song. Oops. But it made me want to listen to Panic! and that was how I was pleasantly surprised with the addition of a few new singles I hadn’t heard yet.  A few days ago at work, a girl passed by me in one of the boats with an “I’m Celebrating!” button saying she was celebrating “Panic’s new album.” Then yesterday I checked Twitter and realized it had been released on January 15th.

PATD_Cover_FINAL_Death of a Bachelor

First Impressions

The album has been purchased and I’m in love. My favorite thing about PATD is how each album has it’s own “theme” and sound to go with it, yet every album is still distinctly Panic’s. They have their sound as a band, but are able to adapt it so well throughout their albums. Death of a Bachelor includes the jazz influences that I always associate with PATD in “Crazy=Genius” and “Death of a Bachelor.” Along with the melancholy lyrics of “Impossible Year,” “Golden Days,” and “House of Memories,” there is no doubt that this is a perfect example of Panic! At the Disco.

I do wish I’d done some kind of live tweet of my first impression of every song. I tweeted a few things, but I was headed out the door to go to work and didn’t give it the proper first listen. But “Impossible Year” killed me on the way to work.

While I wouldn’t give every song a five star rating, I love some songs enough that I would absolutely rate the album higher. The great songs overshadow the ones that were just “meh.”

5/5 Stars

My 5 star songs from the album are (in no particular order):

  1. “Don’t Threaten Me with a Good Time”
  2. “Death of a Bachelor”
  3. “LA Devotee”
  4. “Impossible Year”
  5. “The Good, the Bad, and the Dirty”

4/5 Stars

Not far behind, these three songs were given 4 stars. Not great enough to be a favorite, but I have a great appreciation for the fun music and lyrics.

  1. “House of Memories”
  2. “Golden Days”
  3. “Emperor’s New Clothes”

3/5 Stars

T0 “Crazy=Genius” I gave 3 stars. I like the big band sound, but the song just didn’t do as much for me as others on the album.

2/5 Stars

At “just okay,” I gave “Victorious” two stars. Maybe just because I had already heard it so often as a single that I got tired of it before the album was even released.

1/5 Stars

Honestly, I’d give “Hallelujah” 0 stars. I have no interest in this song whatsoever. I’m so grateful the rest of the album wasn’t as disappointing as this song. The only thing I like about this song is how the very beginning reminds me of the theme from Rocky. But that isn’t enough for me to enjoy the song. Just a personal preference.

Music Video Thoughts

(These are first impression reactions to the videos. So I’m typing out thoughts as soon as they happen.)

“Death of a Bachelor”- This is just like a slightly more entertaining (and completely clothed) version of the “Girls/Girls/Boys” video (which I know was a tribute video to another artist, shh!). But I love a man in a suit, so the video was fancy. Brendon Urie is just a nice man to look at dance around in black and white.

“Emperor’s New Clothes”- I love the transition from “This Is Gospel” to this song. You really can’t lose with singing skeleton heads. I just keep thinking of the film Horns as well as the “Spooky Mormon Hell Dream” from The Book of Mormon. Overall, spooky video, weird effects, but fun. I love more than anything how they tied it to the previous album.

“Victorious”- Oh. A boxing montage. How original. And Dodgeball. This video is hilarious. Not what I expected at first. Celebrating life’s little victories and moving on. I like it.

“Hallelujah”- Oh. His red suit. I love that. Also I’m getting a “princess is in another castle” vibe. Her dark lipstick is #goals. Brendon and I dance the same way, but he’s better at it. I’m not a fan of this video for the effects. Definitely my least favorite of the videos, and it isn’t just because I don’t like the song.

Final Thoughts

Really, overall I guess I would give the album 4/5 stars. The majority of the songs are incredible, but the last few on my list were duds. But I love my Panic! and Brendon Urie in general, and this album is fantastic. “Impossible Year” made me almost break my two-days-without-crying streak. Almost.

Is this my favorite album by PATD? Probably not. I think I’ll always love A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out best, with Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die coming in at a close second. This might be my third favorite album which is still decent in comparison to Vices and Virtues, which I like to pretend never existed. Pretty. Odd. is a fun album, but I don’t have a lot of emotional attachment to any of it.

If you have any agreements/disagreements with my ratings or wish I’d mentioned more things, let me know! I’ve been wanting to add some reviews to my blog for a while, but I’ve never written one before. This will be a journey of figuring that out for sure. I definitely want to hear your opinions on the album if you’re a fan (or if you’re not!).

Leave a Reply

