RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 8 Predictions

If you were to drop by my apartment unexpectedly, you would probably catch my roommates and I watching RuPaul’s Drag Race…for the hundredth time. Seasons 4-7 are currently on Hulu and we can’t seem to stop watching. I honestly couldn’t tell you how many times we have watched these four seasons back to back. As soon as we finish season seven, we start all over again. We know the challenges like we know our own birthdates.

Last night, the season 8 queens were announced. We gathered around Chris’s laptop and watched their introduction videos on LogoTV’s website. I’m so incredibly excited for the season to start March 7! The website wasn’t fully loading all the videos, but we got to see most of the queens’ videos and already have a pretty good idea of who we think will win.

646x326

Our season 8 queens.

I think the 50’s/60’s theme they have going on is adorable, but I look forward to seeing the personal styles of each queen once the season starts. Here are my thoughts on the newest batch of drag queens to grace the main stage in order of who I think will (or should) go home first based on their introduction videos.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (10)

Naomi Smalls

Someone has to go home first, and I think she will be the first or second to go home this season. She just seems so boring, I don’t think she’ll last very long on the show.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (4)

Cynthia Lee Fontain

The poor Puerto Rican queens. Cynthia is tied with Naomi for me with first or second to go home. She’s pretty and classy, but I feel like she’ll go home in the first few episodes.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (1)

Acid Betty

First impression of Acid Betty: she needs more foundation. And blending. It’s like she wants to do makeup like Bianca Del Rio or Trixie Mattel, but isn’t succeeding. She also looks like a mix of Tempest DuJour and Laganga Estranga. As much as I would like to see her go home earlier, I think Ru will keep her on at least through the beginning to see what she does. I’ll admit I’m curious too. But I’m not impressed yet.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (9)

Naysha Lopez

I actually really like Naysha. I think she’s absolutely beautiful. But I think she’ll be one of the next to go if she only does pretty.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (3)

Chi Chi DeVayne

I already want her gone. But I sense that she’ll keep a lot of drama and do a good runway so she’ll stick around a while. I don’t like her attitude at all and definitely hope she goes home sooner.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (5)

Dax Exclamationpoint

My first impression was that I wasn’t going to like her. But within seconds of her interview I was sold. Sadly, I don’t think she’ll make it near the top. I hope she does, though. She reminds me Dida Ritz. She’s so funny and I think she has plenty of Charisma, Uniqueness, Nerve, and Talent that RuPaul looks for. Chi Chi may even outlast her.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (12)

Thorgy Thor

I think Thorgy is super fun, but I don’t think she’ll be in the top 3 at all. I look forward to seeing how she does in the competition and her personality in her runway looks.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (11)

Robbie Turner

I like Robbie a lot. She seems a lot like Jinx Monsoon (they’re best friends, so that makes sense) but without as much crazy. I think she’ll be more well-liked than Jinx was. I feel like I’ll enjoy her style, but not sure if she’ll break from it and show the judges who she is outside of her vintage dress to make it much further.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (7)

Kim Chi

Kim is adorable (despite her lisp, but that’s an accent and second language thing I’m sure). She seems to be one of the more popular pick amongst past queens. I think she’ll do very well and might possibly make it to top three if Laila doesn’t. She also said in her introduction that she wants to win the money so she doesn’t have to feel guilty about paying extra for guac at Chipotle. Me too, girl. Me too.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (8)

Laila McQueen

I’m already in love with her. She’s like a mix of Violet Chachki and Adore Delano and I want everything to do with her. I’d love for her to win so badly and think she’ll at least be top three or four.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (6)

Derrick Berry

I didn’t know how I’d feel about Derrick since she’s a Britney Spears impersonator. I don’t care much about Britney, but after seeing the introduction, I like Derrick a lot. Hopefully she does a good job of showing a side to her other than Britney, and I think she will. Definitely one of the queens to beat if she can do that. But she may be a little bit of a Courtney Act and let it go to her head. We’ll see.

mgid-uma-image-logotv (2)

Bob the Drag Queen

Obsessed. That’s the only word I have about Bob. I need her in my life on the daily. I hope she wins. No doubt in my mind that she’ll make it to the top three. She was one of biggest personalities in the introduction videos and I’m so excited to watch her specifically this season.

While taking a break to talk with my roommates, Cody and I started rating the queens. He said, “We need a Fantasy Football thing for this!” I said, “I’m literally writing a blog post about that very thing right now.” I beat him to it. We’re so incredibly excited for March 7 to see how the show goes! Again, I look forward to seeing everyone’s style and personalities come out, and I’m sure at that point I’ll change my mind about who I think will go home when. But from first impression, these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

