Goodbye Sixteen, Hello Seventeen, Hello Love (Time to Grow, Time to Go)

2016 was by far the worst year of my life. During the last year I hit rock bottom with my mental health and my stress and anxiety levels were at an all-time high. Not only did the year suck massively on a personal level, but it was also miserable on a global level. I’ve never been so happy to see a year end to start fresh.

At the very beginning of the year, my boyfriend and I broke up which left me completely distraught. I was already in a bad place emotionally and that heartbreak just made everything worse. Although that wasn’t the only reason for my downfall, it most definitely did not help. As painful as my year was, I’m very grateful that I finally did something for myself and sought medical help. For me, 2016 was a year of intense pain, but it also began a time of healing when I finally went to get the help I needed. That is a long-term journey that is still a work in progress, but at least it’s progressing.

The monstrosity of “ick” that was 2016 is not all about me and my problems. Every year comes with its own tragedies, but last year had so many events that hit very close to home. Through the many celebrity deaths that hit the world on a personal, nostalgic level as well as the violence around the world (not to mention the insane election), 2016 was all-around a horrendous year for everyone.

I have no intentions of having 2017 be anything but a great year. Although I don’t have any goals or resolutions written down, that is my plan for the week; I want to prepare this week and set myself up for success in this new year. The best thing about hitting rock bottom is that there is only one way to go from there.

My life is extremely blessed because of the people who have stuck with me. I have the most incredible live-in best friends that anyone could ask for; my dog is the greatest and has gotten my through all my emotional turmoil. My family, though they aren’t nearby, have never stopped supporting me despite the distance. As long as I have them, I’ll be unstoppable in 2017.

2017 is the year of me. I’m going to continue putting myself first, and take care of my mental and physical health. This is the year of my writing; I love the release of putting my emotions down on a page for others to read. I’m committing myself to growth and health in this new year. Within the next week I will make a complete list of goals and share them here. For now, know that I am determined to keep my head up thanks to the support and love of those who have stuck with me through a shit year and into the promise of a better one.

img_1204

Leave a Reply

