My Small Return to Facebook

Back in July, I ended my relationship with Facebook. It was causing me to feel a lot of negativity that I didn’t need in my life. While I still have an “active” profile, I no longer have anyone on my friends list and only use the website for a few Facebook groups and to maintain my photo albums. All of my online interactions have been on other social media sites and this blog. I’m here to make a quick post that I am more or less returning to Facebook, though in a slightly different way.

I have made an Orlando is Calling Blog Facebook page as another space to share my blog posts, photography, and other things I would like to share. My reasons for using Facebook are a few things. One reason being I know it’s much easier for people to keep up with things if they’re on their newsfeed, so having my posts show up may bring more people to my blog. A second reason, and really the most major, is that I have a goal for my blog.

I’ve always loved writing. It’s been a passion of mine for as long as I could write. Within the next two years I want to be making money with my writing. It’s a somewhat long-term goal, but I know a strong social media presence will only aid me in succeeding in my dream. I don’t need to be able to make a living off of my writing, that’s a goal for another day. For now, I just plan on starting off with chump change. In order to even begin that process, I need to continue writing and gain an audience.

For now Orlando is Calling is just a personal blog about my life. I share my feelings and my interests with you in order to express myself. Even though my posts are mostly about myself, I do consciously try to add in interactions and open-ended questions to bring a sense of inclusion to whoever may be reading. I want to encourage and inspire my audience by using my own life as an example. When I make mistakes or go through a difficult/strange situation, I want to share that and maybe someone will have a similar story to tell.

This doesn’t mean all of my opinions or stories are “right,” but it doesn’t make them any less true or real for me, and I hope my readers can understand that and accept me for my personal truth. I’m changing myself a lot this year; I’ve already made many great strides mentally to rid myself of heaviness and negativity and I still have a ways to go, but I want to share that with you through my blog and social media accounts. I will continue to make mistakes and say things I shouldn’t, but I also hope that I can inspire you as I find more light and positivity and grow within myself.

Please excuse the emptiness of my page, but I encourage you to find “Orlando is Calling Blog” on Facebook and give it a “Like” so my posts show up on your newsfeed.  I hope you join me in discovering whatever my purpose is and in achieving my goals.

Leave a Reply

