Grateful and Healing

Today I’m grateful that, even though I’m working two weeks straight with no time for rest, I’m able to sit and read at work. And that the team brought in donuts

 The last week has been off for me; I ran around working and entertaining an out of town friend and totally forgot about myself. I didn’t make my own mental and physical health a priority, so I ate junk park food and forgot about my meditation. Waking up for work was a challenge because I didn’t have my positive solace first thing in the morning. 

Yesterday on my break I found a 15-minute meditation podcast to get me through the rest of my afternoon and it did wonders. This morning I woke up and grounded myself before I even turned on my lights or went to the bathroom. 

Mediation has become a necessity for me in the mornings. It sets my day off right and gives me a clearer view on what I want to accomplish for myself. 

This last week I totally fell off the wagon. But I planned out my workouts for next week, and am re-committing to my health in all aspects. (Yes I know I just said I was grateful for the donut. Let me treat myself.) I brought fruit, carrots, and hummus for my lunch to fuel my body, and I jump started my day with meditation to fuel my mind. Although I don’t get to have a day off this weekend, I’m looking at the overtime as a blessing and am happy to have it. 

I’m grateful for a library card and the fact that I live three stoplights away from my library. Reading brings me so much comfort and I’m happy to be able to escape into the pages. 

And of course I’m grateful for the donuts. Not even because they’re sweet and tasty. More than that, I’m thankful for the gesture of bringing them in on a long day of overtime. 

The sunrise this morning was beautiful. The weather walking into work was incredible. It’s much too pretty outside to be cooped up indoors, but I’m grateful to be able to take it all in briefly first thing today. 


One thought on “Grateful and Healing

Leave a Reply

